Young the Giant is an American indie rock band that formed in Irvine, California, in 2004. The band’s line-up is Sameer Gadhia (lead vocals), Jacob Tilley (guitar), Eric Cannata (guitar), Payam Doostzadeh (bass guitar), and Francois Comtois (drums). Formerly known as The Jakes, Young the Giant was signed by Roadrunner Records in 2009 and released its eponymous debut album in 2010. The band’s first three singles, “My Body”, “Cough Syrup” and “It’s About Time” reached the top five of the US Alternative Songs chart.

The Jakes formed in 2004 in Irvine, California.[1] Consisting of Jacob Tilley, Addam Farmer, Kevin Massoudi, Ehson Hashemian, and Sameer Gadhia, the band’s name was an acronym of the members’ first names.[2] After several personnel changes, the group’s lineup by 2008 consisted of Gadhia (born July 10, 1989) , Tilley, Hashemian, Eric Cannata, Francois Comtois (born May 20, 1988) and Jason Burger. With two members still in high school and the others each attending different colleges, the Jakes recorded an EP, Shake My Hand, with producer Ian Kirkpatrick and decided to put their schooling on hold to focus on music. Burger left the band to pursue an education at Manhattan School of Music in New York City, and Comtois took over as the drummer. Shortly thereafter, longtime friend and collaborator, Payam Doostzadeh, joined as bassist.[3] In 2009 the band played four shows at the South by Southwest music festival in Austin, Texas.[4] The band’s song “Texas Tea” was played during an episode of MTV’s The Real World: Brooklyn, and “Paid the Piper” was featured on A&E’s The Beast.[4] Another song, “Cough Syrup”, received airplay on the Los Angeles radio station KROQ.[5] Shortly before signing to Roadrunner Records in August, keyboardist Ehson Hashemian departed the band.[6][7] In December 2009, the band announced they had changed their name to Young the Giant.


Comments for this post: no responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *