The Neighbourhood (sometimes stylized as “THE NBHD”) is an American alternative rock group formed in August 2011. The band is composed of vocalist Jesse Rutherford, guitarists Jeremy Freedman and Zach Abels, drummer Brandon Fried and bassist Mikey Margott. After releasing two EPs, I’m Sorry… and Thank You, The Neighbourhood released their first full length album, I Love You., on April 23, 2013, via Columbia Records.[2] On January 16, 2014, the band revealed via social media that drummer Bryan Sammis was leaving the band to pursue a solo career in music.

In early 2012, The Neighbourhood came together to release “Female Robbery” and “Sweater Weather”.[3] In May 2012, the band unveiled a self-released free EP titled I’m Sorry…. The debut EP was produced by Justyn Pilbrow.[1]

I Love You. was released on April 23, 2013 and debuted at number 39 on the Billboard 200 albums chart.[4] On June 27, 2013 they performed their lead single “Sweater Weather” on Jimmy Kimmel Live

“Sweater Weather” topped the charts in early June 2013, reaching number 1 on Billboard’s alternative chart[5] and breaking the top ten on Billboard Heatseekers chart.[6] Rolling Stone debuted the world premiere of I Love You. on April 16, describing the album as “moody” and “atmospheric”.[7] The video for the first official single from I Love You., “Sweater Weather”, was released on March 5, 2013.[8] The band is known for their black-and-white imagery, as seen throughout their music, artwork, and videos.[9] The Love Collection comprised the three songs “West Coast”, “No Grey”, and “$TING”. They were each released on 7″ vinyls.


Comments for this post: no responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *