Glass Animals are an English indie rock band from Oxford consisting of members Dave Bayley (lead vocals, guitar), Drew MacFarlane (guitar, keys, backing vocals), Edmund Irwin-Singer (bass, keys, backing vocals), and Joe Seaward (drums).The group released their debut album Zaba in June 2014 as the first release on producer Paul Epworth’s label Wolf Tone, and their second album How to Be a Human Being on August 26, 2016, to critical acclaim. The band has toured internationally and featured on line ups at festivals such as Austin City Limits, Summer Well, Glastonbury,Coachella,Bonnaroo,Lollapalooza, Reading/Leeds,Falls Festival, Firefly Music Festival, St Jerome’s Laneway Festival, Southbound and Bestival.

Bandmates Bayley, Seaward, MacFarlane and Irwin-Singer were friends at secondary school in Oxford. Dave Bayley and Drew MacFarlane were born in the United States, and formed Glass Animals in 2010 while at university. They first performed live at Oxford’s Jericho Tavern on April 9, 2010 supporting Chapel Club. Their radio debut was on BBC Introducing in Oxford in June of the same year, with “Slikk Furr”.The band released their debut EP, Leaflings, on May 28, 2012, which included the single “Cocoa Hooves”. It was released on independent label Kaya Kaya Records, a subsidiary and imprint of XL Recordings (part of the Beggars Group of labels). Lead singer and guitarist Dave Bayley was attending medical school at London King’s College but quit once Adele’s producer Paul Epworth saw Glass Animals performing in London and signed them to his label Wolf Tone.


Comments for this post: no responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *